其實你懂我的心

see Me, I am just as normal as each of you

people like me may have special shells on the outside

and most of the time those shells jailed me from connecting with you guys

I have no choice but to become a lone wolf confined to my powered wheelchair

 

I know sometimes you stare curiously

I know sometimes you walk away fearfully

I also know sometimes you simply don’t know how to start a daily conversation

and there are also times you see me as an ogre because of my appearance

I don’t blame you, really!

 

When I was little,

I struggled with my own disability

and the overwhelming attention people cast on me

night after night, I wept myself to sleep

days gone by, and I got mature as time went on

there weren’t red-rimmed eyes in the morning anymore

 

glistening tears have already turned into diamonds of wisdom

I grew into a brave phoenix standing out for my peers

who are suffering as I did few years ago

 

mustering all my courage, I wrote down this poem in imperfect English

to raise the awareness of human rights for the physically challenged

 

I  myself whole-heartedly believe that

those who mistreated or teased me or my friends didn’t mean it

 

And I truly hope that everyone out there accept us as who we are

look directly in our eyes,

give us warm hugs and greetings,

share interesting things with us

 

Most importantly, love us no matter how different we are from you

after all, we are all humans with tender hearts 

 

see Me, I am just as normal as each of you

四月的第一天,是學校特教推行委員會成立的日子。

我以學生代表身分坐在會場內,對於會議中各學院院長及各與會委員釋出的善意感激在心,幾次參與身障相關的權益推行委員會,我越來越發現,這個世界並不缺少善意,缺少的是溝通與理解。這也難怪,身障者的權利保障是近年來才漸漸發展出一定的制度,隨著制度設立,擴大了身障者的社會參與,於是他們的聲音得以被聽見。

在各種社會參與中,我認為教育品質與教育環境在身障者日後健全發展上扮演著舉足輕重的關鍵角色。

圖片

 圖片由龍映涵繪製:)

以我為例,幼稚園時期,我曾上過融合教育學校,那裡的教育環境讓我能夠較自在的面對自己身體先天的限制,也能體恤不同障別的同學。之後老師認為以我的認知能力可以進入國小的普通班就讀,因此從小學開始一路都是接受普通的主流教育。進入普通班之後,我跟一般同學的差異逐漸出現,老師和同學如何看待這樣的差異很重要。曾經,我因為不用升旗、體育課總是在樹下乘涼,被同學質疑有特權,也曾經因為我站姿搖搖晃晃,不甚美觀,老師想推派我去參加說故事比賽卻被家長力阻。也有一視同仁的老師希望我鍛鍊體魄,跟著大家做伏地挺身、打躲避球。

國中時候的我為了逃避令我難堪而無助的自我認同問題,不斷的催眠自己,只要好好念書,有好成績就不會被看扁。所以我很努力埋首書堆,專心致志的追求心目中最嚮往的志願,對學業的專注讓我沒有青少年的反叛期(或者說延後了XD)

真正讓我發揮潛能的舞台在高中,我身邊的老師和同學們並不覺得我有什麼特別,各項活動、校外教學,總是盡可能把我融入,而且鼓勵我把自己的需求勇敢主動的表達出來,讓我從一個總是擔心別人眼光,擔心給人造成麻煩的邊緣人,慢慢蛻變出自己生命裡充滿能量的一面,也找到自己未來的生涯方向,相信自己是empowered的。

紮根於高中時期的自信是我上大學後學習獨立不可或缺的養分,身障者的日常生活有許多艱困的處境,如果心志不夠堅強很快就會被無助與焦慮的浪潮給淹沒,我自己就有這樣的經驗。回想起我走出低潮的過程,我體認到:來自外界的支持訊息非常必要,所謂支持訊息並不是只一味的幫助、施予,而是鼓勵、進一步發覺身障者的價值與才能,使其適才適所,逐步建立起信心,他才會真正接受自己,而非總是想把自己隱身在正常社群中、或是安於邊緣的角色。

所以,除了硬體設施與環境改善,我更盼望學校單位能夠從心出發,同理身障學生的狀況,也帶他們看到生涯發展的多元面向,盡量協助減低障礙在他們發展當中的影響。

發表迴響

